Ranked among the nation's top graduate programs in history by U.S. News and World Report
Old World Map background


Graduate Scholarships and Awards

Allen W. Trelease Graduate Fellowship in History

Established in 2006 by Dr. Allen W. Trelease, this fellowship is awarded annually to one or more outstanding doctoral students in history who are ABD.

Dr. Trelease came to the University as professor of history in 1967 and served as head of the department from 1984 until 1992. He retired from full-time teaching in 1994. During his more than two decades of service he was responsible for significant growth of the history department. Dr. Trelease passed away in 2011, and is remembered fondly by his former colleagues, students, and these students who were the beneficiaries of his generosity.

2018: Christopher Davis, Anderson Rouse, Kelsey Walker

2017: Justina Licata, Jason Stroud, Brian Suttell

2016: Ian Michie, Jamie Mize, Joseph Ross, Virginia Summey

2015: Brian Lee, Steven Peach, Hannah Dudley-Shotwell, Monica Ward

2014: James Hall, Keith Mann, Sarah McCartney, Eric Oakley

2013: Sarah Gates, Therese Strohmer, and Margaret Williams

2012: James Findley

2011: Christopher Graham, John Kaiser, and D. Todd Miller

2010: Karen Hawkins, Joseph Moore

2009: Jennifer Bratyanski, Marjorie Foy

2008: Paige Meszaros, Cory Joe Stewart

2007: Susan Thomas, Angela Robbins Marritt

CAS home banner
Giving Banner
Connect with us!