Learn about the past. Prepare for your future.
Old World Map background

NEWS & EVENTS

Upcoming Events

Important Dates

  • Friday, November 16: Long Strange Trip, see details below.
  • Saturday, November 17: Resistance to Injustice, see details below
  • Monday, Oct. 22- Tuesday, Nov. 13: Spring and Summer registration for continuing students
  • Wednesday Nov. 21-Friday, Nov. 23: Thanksgiving holiday. Classes dismissed. UNCG closed Thursday and Friday.
  • Wednesday, November 28: Last day of classes
  • Thursday, November 29: Reading Day
  • Friday-Saturday, Nov. 30-Dec. 1, Monday-Thursday, Dec. 3-6: Final examinations
  • Thursday, December 6: Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
  • Friday, December 7: Commencement
  • Monday, December 24-Tuesday, January 1: Winter holiday. UNCG closed.
  • Monday, January 14: Spring semester classes begin.

Long Strange Trip: a Grateful Dead Documentary Series

Screening #1: Led by Dr. Richard Barton
Friday, November 16, 2018, 6:30 p.m.
Greensboro Project Space, 219 W. Lewis St., Greensboro

Long Strange Trip is a six-part documentary series about the rock band the Grateful Dead Directed by Amir Bar-Lev. It will be screened at the Greensboro Project Space on November 16th, February 8th, and April 26th paired with discussions hosted by guest speakers as part of UNCG's 1960s programs: https://vpa.uncg.edu/home/sixties/another-year-of-the-dead/. Facebook event: https://www.facebook.com/events/2189346901337669/

Screening # 1: "The Band," led by UNCG Associate Professor of History, Richard Barton. It's Alive & This is Now. The series premiere explores how the band was created and commits itself to constant change. The second episode illuminates how the Grateful Dead scored success on their own terms, yet sabotaged their chances at superstardom.

Sponsored by UNCG Department of Religious Studies, UNCG College of Visual and Performing Arts, and UNCG Greensboro Project Space.


Resistance to Injustice, a lecture by Dr. Linda B. Brown
Saturday, November 17, 2018, 3-5 p.m.
International Civil Rights Center & Museum, 134 S. Elm St., Greensboro, NC

In 1963, a wave of protestors fought segregation in Greensboro. Many of them were arrested and detained at the Greensboro Polio Hospital. This lecture is part of an exhibit and series of programs to commemorate the complicated history of the polio hospital. Please come and share your story.

Refreshments will be provided. Please RSVP to this free event at go.uncg.edu/poliohospital. For disability accommodations, please contact: uncgmuseumstudies@gmail.com or 336-334-5645.

Sponsored by UNCG Department of History, International Civil Rights Center & Museum, North Carolina Humanties Council, and the Greensboro History Museum.


CAS home banner
Giving Banner
Facebook
Connect with us!